Arnett Cobb

  • A+

Arnett Cobb



Arnett Cobb

Arnett Cobb (August 10, 1918 – March 24, 1989)was an American jazz tenor saxophonist.

Cobb was born Arnette Cleophus Cobbs in Houston, Texas. His musical career began with the local bands of Chester Boone, from 1934 to 1936, and Milt Larkin, from 1936 to 1942 (which included a period on the West Coast with Floyd Ray). Among his bandmates in the Larkin aggregation were Illinois Jacquet, Eddie "Cleanhead" Vinson, Tom Archia, Cedric Haywood, and Wild Bill Davis. He replaced Illinois Jacquet in Lionel Hampton's band in 1942, staying with Hampton until 1947. He is credited with the words and music for the jazz standard "Smooth Sailing", 1951. Ella Fitzgerald recorded this for Decca and it can be heard on her album, Lullabies of Birdland.


:?: :razz: :sad: :evil: :!: :smile: :oops: :grin: :eek: :shock: :???: :cool: :lol: :mad: :twisted: :roll: :wink: :idea: :arrow: :neutral: :cry: :mrgreen: